My story

In order to understand why I am passionate about wellness4life, you first have to learn about me. Growing up I had a very low self-esteem. I never thought I was pretty enough or thin enough so I was the classic overachiever in school to feel some sense of worth.

I went to college, majored in math and graduated with honors. One year after my graduation I started teaching high school math. This is when I started to gain confidence in myself because I was good at what I did and found it to be rewarding. I would say this is when I began to build my mental wellness.

I got married in 1990 and had my first child in 1992. Before my baby was born we bought a new home and I was packing my clothes for the move. I picked up a pair of jeans and didn’t know who they belonged to since I thought there was no way they could be mine, (they were so small). I asked my husband whose jeans they were and he looked at me funny saying they’re yours. I was shocked and angry. For years I never liked the way I looked, and at that moment I vowed I would never feel that way again.

The birth of my son filled the longing gap in my body for the feeling of accomplishment. I was proud of myself and felt the deepest love for my baby. Eight months later I was back in those jeans and in 1994 my beautiful daughter was born. This same trend continued in 1995 another beautiful baby girl and in 1996 another handsome baby boy. Throughout my pregnancies and the birth of my children I continued to work as a Math Teacher. I never felt more confident and proud of myself. My husband worked from home so we had the perfect situation for me to continue with my career. I was quickly back in my jeans and I thought nothing could ever stop me from “doing it all”.

In 1999 I was diagnosed with Multiple Sclerosis and my whole world came crashing down.

Leave a Reply

